Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Bonus video: Why "BeReal" isn't authentic

(50 sec) Have you heard about this social media app?

(Transcript at bottom)

I have a new webinar available called, Friendship in the Digital Age. Learn more here.


RECORDED WEBINARS: Watch at your convenience

  • NEW: Friendship in the Digital Age (This is a recording of a recent presentation in front of a LIVE audience.)

  • Kid Confidence: Help Your Child Build Real Self-Esteem

  • Making Up and Breaking Up With Friends (Q&A session)

  • Parenting During Uncertain Times

  • Help Your Child Cope With Feelings

  • Helping Your Anxious Child (Q&A session)

SEE ALL RECORDED WEBINARS


CHECK OUT MY BOOKS

Transcript

I'm hearing a lot from my clients in high school and college about this app called, “BeReal.” The idea is that the app signals you, and you're supposed to take a picture of whatever is going on with you at that moment and send it to various friends. 

So, on the one hand, I like the push for authenticity. On the other hand, I think they're missing the point. 

If you took a picture of me at 7:30 in the morning, you would have seen me today making my lunch and packing it for work. 

So, is that real? Well, it's factual. but I don't think it's real. It's not the most real part of me. 

The most real part of me is what's in my heart. it's what I care about deeply. It's what I show up for consistently. That's real.

0 Comments
Dr. Friendtastic for Parents
Dr. Friendtastic for Parents
Authors
Eileen Kennedy-Moore, PhD