Dr. Friendtastic for Parents
Kids Ask Dr. Friendtastic
Dr. Friendtastic's Friendship League: Jason Griffith
1
0:00
-5:42

Dr. Friendtastic's Friendship League: Jason Griffith

Ep. 19, Introducing a special friend. Do you know Sonic the Hedgehog?
1
Transcript

No transcript...

(Would you rather read? A TRANSCRIPT is at the bottom of this post.)

Introducing our very first Friendship League episode!

Dr. Friendtastic’s Friendship League is made up of adults who care about kids and have volunteered to share with you about a friendship rough spot they faced as a kid plus a kind thing a friend did for them. In this episode, Jason Griffith, who was the voice of Sonic the Hedgehog, tells a powerful story about overcoming being bullied.

Scroll down for some discussion questions you can share with your child plus how to submit your child’s question.

We’ll be back to our regular format next week, answering a question from a kid.


Unlock the power of friendship!

Become a free subscriber to get the Kids Ask Dr. Friendtastic weekly, 5-minute podcast episodes sent directly to your email plus parent resources.

Join now as a paid subscriber to get even more of the tools you need to support your child's feelings and friendships. You’ll get additional posts for parents, access to the full archive, PLUS, each month, you’ll get access to a live or recorded workshop FOR PARENTS about children’s feelings and friendships at NO ADDITIONAL COST for that month. Topics include Helping Your Anxious Child, Kid Confidence, and so much more.

Join as an all-access subscriber and you’ll get access to all posts PLUS you won’t have to wait: you’ll get access to all workshops for parents AND KIDS as soon as they’re available, and they won’t expire at the end of the month. The all-access membership becomes more valuable over time because I keep adding new workshops. You can see all current workshop topics HERE.

YES! I want all the perks!


Please help the podcast grow!

If you love the Kids Ask Dr. Friendtastic podcast, please help it continue and grow by sending in your child’s question about friendship and by asking your friends to submit their children’s questions. Here are the instructions:

Adults, please use your smartphone's memo function or an audio app to record your child's question. Hold the phone close to your child's mouth to make sure the recording is clear. Have your child state:

1) their FIRST NAME (or another name),

2) their AGE, and

3) a BRIEF QUESTION or concern about friendship. (Please do not include any friends' names.)

Email the audio file to DrF@EileenKennedyMoore.com. I’ll answer as many questions as I can. (Obviously, this is not psychotherapy, and it’s not for emergency situations.)


Share this post with a friend!

Share

Think About It Questions to discuss with your child

Rich was the ringleader in picking on Jason. Why do you think the other kids joined in on the meanness? 

If you were getting picked on like Jason was, which adults could you go to for help?

Why did Rich tell the other kids to stop picking on Jason? What do you think Rich felt or realized that changed his mind?

Have you ever stood up for someone who was getting picked on? If it’s not safe for you to speak up directly, in the moment, what are some other ways you could support someone who is getting bullied?

What do you think about the fact that the person who was meanest and kindest to Jason when he was a kid was the same person?

Redemption means freeing ourselves from a bad situation or bad actions. We can always choose to move forward in kinder ways. Rich made a big change, but all of us can work on being kinder in our daily lives. What is one way you could be kinder?


Go Deeper!

Want to learn more about how you can support your child’s feelings and friendships? My books and webinars–for parents and kids–give you in-depth understanding and practical, research-based ideas you can use immediately.

YES! I LOVE TO READ! SHOW ME THE BOOKS

SHOW ME THE USEFUL & CONVENIENT WEBINARS


Transcript

Hi, I'm Dr. Eileen Kennedy-Moore, an author and clinical psychologist based in Princeton, NJ. 

Today on Kids Ask Dr. Friendtastic I have something very special for you:

A lot of kids think they're the only one struggling with friendship problems, but really everyone has faced friendship rough spots! 

Today, I’m introducing Dr. Friendtastic’s Friendship League. The Friendship League is made up of adults who care about kids and who have volunteered to share with you some memories from when they were a kid about a friendship rough spot they faced plus a kind thing a friend did for them. 

Here's our very first Friendship League episode: 

Hey, Kids! Hey, Dr. Friendastic! This is Jason Griffith, former voice of Sonic the Hedgehog and Shadow the Hedgehog. 

So a friendship rough spot I had as a kid would have been about the time I was in 6th grade. I really wanted to be friends with the popular kids–the kids who played sports and were cool. And I was so not cool. I had a face full of zits, big glasses, chubby, brush-cut hair that wasn't even even… So, nobody–with very few exceptions–wanted to be my friend, and I was picked on a lot.  

I remember at the end of school, we'd be waiting for the bus, and there was this kid, Rich, who would stand in front of me and just make fun of me, and say horrible things to me, and really hurt my feelings until the bus came. Our bus was always the last one to arrive, so it was a while. And I even remember my dad had some trouble with the law, and it got publicized in the newspaper, and he would make fun of me for that. It was just not a fun time. 

I knew I could be a great friend, and I would be loyal and supportive and creative friend. I just didn't get that chance. 

A twist on that, to answer the second question, a kind thing a friend did for me, well it wasn't done by a friend; it was done by this Rich kid. It was a week or so after my father had passed away, and I was in 7th grade. Now, leading up to this, I was teased almost every day, especially riding the bus home. A group of kids, usually led by Rich, would do the teasing. 

I remember sitting on the bus and just feeling so down and depressed because my father had just died. A couple of the kids started to make fun of me in the way they always did, saying some stuff about my appearance, or my zits, or whatever it was. I just remember Rich, sort of the linchpin of all this mockery, stopping them and very quietly explaining to them that my dad had just died. And immediately the teasing stopped. I don't think I was teased one day after that, going forward. 

I'll always remember that because it was something I didn't expect, and that I'm completely grateful for, and I think gave me an opportunity to see the redemption…the redeeming value that even a bully–even a school bully who made your life a nightmare–could have. So even though it wasn't a friend, it was a friendly action, and I am very grateful.

Wow, Jason, what a powerful story! Thank you so much for sharing it! 

To me, Jason’s story says a lot about his strength because he moved on to do so many interesting and satisfying things after such difficult, difficult experiences. 

It also points to the power of kindness. Jason used a beautiful word to describe Rich’s change of heart: redemption. Redemption means freeing ourselves from a bad situation or bad actions. I don’t think Rich shutting down the teasing erased all the meanness he did before, but it was an act of kindness, and it make it possible for Rich and Jason–and the other kids–to move forward in a better direction. That matters.

If you’re a kid who has been bullied, think of Jason’s story and know: It gets better. Hang on and find your support people. And if you’re a kid who’s maybe made some not-so-kind choices, know you can change, starting now.

I’ll be back next week with a question about friendship from a kid. If you have a question about making and keeping friends that you’d like me to answer, go to DrFriendtastic.com, and click on the podcast tab to see how to submit your question.

1 Comment
Dr. Friendtastic for Parents
Kids Ask Dr. Friendtastic
Kids Ask Dr. Friendtastic is a podcast for children about making and keeping friends. Each 5-minute episode features an audio recording of a question about friendship from a kid plus a practical and thought-provoking answer from Eileen Kennedy-Moore, PhD, (also known as Dr. Friendtastic,) who is an author and clinical psychologist based in Princeton, NJ. For transcripts and discussion questions, go to https://DrFriendtastic.com/podcast. To submit a question, go to https://DrFriendtastic.com/submit.